The finch files

Stories from San Francisco and Beyond

This website hosts "The Finch Files:  Stories from San Francisco and Beyond."  It's a podcast produced and hosted by veteran radio reporter/storyteller Peter Finch.

Links and Show Notes from "Much Ado About Shakespeare" (Episode 85)

The College of Adaptive Arts in San Jose is doing fine work with college students with special needs.  You'll find it online here:  www.collegeofadaptivearts.org.

The Reduced Shakespeare Company will be playing the Mondavi Center at UC Davis on November 1st.  For more on RSC go to www.reducedshakespeare.com.

The Half Moon Bay Shakespeare production of "Romeo Y Julieta," opens August 18th.  Details at www.hmbshakespeare.org.

 

Show Notes from our show called "Science,  It's a Thing" (Episode 84).

We had a lot of fun putting this show together.  

Lenny Mendonca, founder of the Half Moon Bay Brewing Company talked about their "Brews and View" speaker series.

We enjoyed our time with Dr. Sydnee McElroy, co-host of the Sawbones podcast.

We always like talking to Mary Roach.  Her latest book, "Grunt:  The Curious Science of Humans at War," is now out in paperback.

for  more on science comedian Brian Malow, go to www.sciencecomedian.com.

 

Oh man, we have a lot of links & stuff to share from our show on Aging Out (Episode 83).  Here goes:

Steve Silberman's book is called "NeuroTribes:  The Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity."  Kamran Nazeer's books is, "Send in the Idiots."

The Bricks And Minifigs store that Bob and Patty Flynn opened to provide employment for their son Scott can be found online at:   www.bringsandminifigs.com/store/concord-california/

Here's a link to The Wayfaring Band:  www.thewayfaringband.com.

Aspergers Experts can be found at:  www.aspergersexperts.com

No wonder Michael Bernick struggled to remember the acronym for the group he is involved with.  It's the Autism Aspergers Spectrum Coalition for Education Networking and Development.  Here's a link:  www.aascend.org.

The Autism Society San Francisco Bay Area is at:  www.sfautismsociety.org

 

A link from our show on Altamonte (Episode 82).

If you'd like to hear more of KSAN radio's broadcast the day after the trouble occurred at the Altamont music festival,  go to this link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUlyVSfhgaM

 

Here are links and other stuff associated with our "Ocean Love" episode (Episode 76):

International Ocean Film Festival:  www.oceanfilmfest.org.  FYI, the films and directors who were heard in this episode include:

     Oceanic Connection-Haydn Fischer

     The Snail-Smashing, Fish-Spearing, Eye-Popping Mantis Shrimp-Elliott Kennerson

     @415Plumber: #OB_Plastic Obsession-Jeff den Broeder

     It Ain't Pretty:  Dayla Soul

The Bay Area Association of Disabled Sailors:  www.baads.org

Square Peg Foundation (the horse rescue/adaptive riding center that also hosts surf camps for kids on the Autism Spectrum:  www.squarepegfoundation.org.

The Marine Mammal Center:  www.marinemammalcenter.org

The Greater Farallones Marine Sanctuary:  www.farallones.noaa.gov

You can follow world class waterman and big wave surfer Kealii Mamala on instagram:  @kealiihawaii

 

This a list of the performers (in order of performance) from our "Trumpauguration" episode (Episode 75) along with links to their websites:

Alex Stanley (musician):  alexstanley.bandcamp.com

Sarah Ladino Manyiko (writer/poet):  www.sarahladipomanyiko.com

John Lester (musician):  www.johnlestermusic.com

Chris Chandler (spoken word):  www.chrischandler.org

Theresa Cossman (friend)

Anna Vogelzang (musician):  www.theanna.com

Travis McElroy (podcaster):  www.mcelroyshows.com  Also:  bit.ly.iamholdingyourhand.com

Devorah Major (writer/poet):  www.devorahmajor.com

Megan Keely (musician):  www.megankeely.com

Les Wisner  (cafe proprietor):  www.bazaarcafe.com

John Elliott (musician):  www.thehereafterishere.com

Brittany Perham (writer/poet):  www.creativewriting.stanford.edu/people/brittany-perham

Dave Eggers (author/publisher):  www.826valencia.org  www.826national.org

REM (band)

Alejandro Murguia (writer/poet):  www.alejandromurguia.org

Avi Vinocur (musician):  www.hiwearegoodnighttexashowareyou.com

 

Here are links from our "Grassroots" episode (Episode 74)

 

For more on on the Silicon Valley-based non profit Connect Safely, go to www.connectsafely.org.

To link to the page to help Zewudie Alamerewu attend college in the U.S., check out this link: https://www.youcaring.com/zewudiegebeyehualamerewu-722957#.WHBvIIo909w.facebook

For more on My Brother, My Brother, and Me and all the other podcasts Travis McElroy can be heard on, go to www.mcelroyshows.com.

Finally, to see "Mohawk Guy" play drums with the Foo Fighters, go here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GK1WQVroGhs

 

 

Here are all the links related to our episode entitled "Here, Let Me Help."  (Episode 73):  

 

For more on the Clear Pop sucker that relieves earache pain in children, go to www.clearpop.com.

Tina Bryson, who offers from areola tattoos to women recovering from breast cancer, can be found at www.permanent-make-up-by-tina.net.

Richard Moran is the author of "The Thing About Work:  Showing Up and Other Important Matters."  His website is www.richardmoran.com.

Barbara Rose Brooker organizes the "Age March," to combat age discrimination.  For more on her, go to www.barbararosebrooker.com.

To find out more about the fine work being done by Dave's Killer Bread to employ those who have served time in prison, check out www.dkbfoundation.org.

To get the low down on those "criminally delicious" Prison Bars, log on to www.prison-bars.com.